The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

The wait is over. The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore has finally been released and I got to buy a copy just in time for the long weekend last week. As all of you might already know, this novel is the sequel to the renowned I Am Number Four. The film adaptation of the first book was also released last February 2011 starring Alex Pettyfer as Number Four AKA John Smith.

The first time I picked up and read I Am Number Four, I was instantly intrigued by the author’s name. I even wondered if anyone had an actual surname of Lore and if any couple would name their son Pittacus. With this said, I thought the name in itself was unique, yet added an “alien” personality to it. Never had it occurred to me that the name, Pittacus Lore, was, in fact, a character from the novel until I read the contents of the novel. Therefore, in order to satisfy my curiosity on who’s behind this Pittacus Lore, I searched the internet and found out that it was the pseudonym for James Frey and Jobie Hughes. I was not familiar with Jobie Hughes, but I have heard of James Frey. He is an American author who claimed to receive intense controversies regarding the fabrication of his literary work.

Anyway, going back to the book, to avoid any disclosure of spoilers, I’m only going to give you a general gist of the story. Nine Loric children are chosen by the Elders of the planet Lorien for them to take over their roles once the Elders have finished their tasks and duties. Lorien is in grave danger from the Mogadorians (Mogs), so these nine children, the Gardes, together with their Cêpans (their guardians) escaped and flew to Earth temporarily to hide from the Mogadorians. The Mogs are desperately after the children, but they only have to kill them in chronological order. Otherwise, the Garde’s charm will take effect and deflect the Mogs’s powers; thus, killing themselves instead of achieving their purpose. Numbers One to Three have already been killed; Number Four is next. With him and Number Six’s decision to search for others, will the combined forces of the rest of the Gardes defeat the Mogadorians? Let’s hope to find that out throughout the series.

I can say that this sequel is as great as the first book. While I Am Number Four mainly focuses on John Smith AKA Number Four, The Power of Six combines the point of views of John Smith and Marina (AKA Number Seven). The alternating point of views of both John and Marina leaves me wanting to turn the page more quickly – hungry for what’s to come for both of them. Readers will not be confused because two different fonts are used for each POV and this technique will let the readers come to love the characters more.

In addition to this, the second book allows the readers to gain more information about the Mogadorians and recognizes the importance of the Chest as it is part of their inheritance which contains valuable and powerful objects/weapons that letting it fall into the hands of the Mogs will possibly cost them their lives. I love how the book depicts the notion that despite the differences people acquire or possess, we are still interconnected with one another. Aside from this, I also admire the independency of the characters. I would never imagine myself having to encounter the things the Gardes have gone through and to how they are able to handle things courageously and use their Legacies for the good of the people and themselves, while not wanting to use them in vain. On the other hand, I sympathize them as they are not able to experience the life of a normal teenager or kid. It somehow makes me never to take the simplest things for granted.

Full of suspense, thrill, and action, The Power of Six never ceases to amaze me. The ending of the novel leaves me wanting for more. I undeniably cannot wait for the release of the next book. James Frey may have done scandalous things in the past, but he proves to be a good writer in this book series.

I would like to end my blog post with inspiring quotes that I took from the novel:

“The only limits of tomorrow are the doubts we have today.” (p. 107)

“My experiences have taught me that things rarely improve with a simple change of scenery.” (p. 147)

“The key to change is letting go of fear.” (p. 148)

“…love that will always be a stronger bond than any obligation.” (p. 216)

“Never lose faith in yourself, and never lose hope; remember, even when this world throws its worst and then turns its back, there is still always hope.” (p. 221)


About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

2 responses to “The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

  • Lia

    I would like to thank you for publishing this review. The quotes at the end were very useful. I was writing a review of The Power of Six and I needed three quotes with the page numbers. Before I could get the pages I had to turn in the book to the library. Thanks for your help and keep reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: