That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra

Ever since I found out about Mina V. Esguerra’s new book, That Kind of Guy, I have already been extra alert about its release date. So, when I recently discovered that the book’s been released in other bookstores, I headed to the nearest store and bought a copy.

That Kind of Guy is a companion novella to No Strings Attached. No, the book isn’t about Carla and Dante, but about the relationship between Julie and Anton – or Tonio – instead. Here’s the summary from the back cover of the book:

Good girl Julie never expected her hot former-player boyfriend to propose marriage. But when he did, she turned him down for reasons even she couldn’t figure out. Will she settle for a nice, safe guy instead? Or will she let him find his way back into her carefully guarded heart?

The pacing of the story is just right. Readers will be introduced to some of Anton’s past relationships and will slowly come to the news that Julie broke up with Anton. After which, Julie will begin narrating how she and Anton met, how they got together, to how they broke up.

In No Strings Attached, Julie is seen as someone who is hard to get along with. And Anton, also known as Tonio in that book, is being portrayed as a playboy-type kind of guy. These were my initial impressions on them, but of course, first impressions don’t usually last. As in the case of That Kind of Guy, I’m glad the book gives me a chance to get to know the two of them better and most importantly, it makes them become likable in the eyes of the readers. I’m pretty sure the girls will swoon over Anton, too. In fact, the way he easily gets along with Julie’s family, with the way he treats Julie and cares for her, truly suits my kind of guy.

I actually like the way Mina V. Esguerra structures the story which pushes people to be more immersed in the book. At one point, some questions are raised, but they will soon be answered as the story progresses. This tactic has been very effective on me because it keeps me turning one page after another that in just a day and a half, I finished the book completely.

True enough, I did not just enjoy this book, but lessons about relationships can be learned from it as well. As what Anton said, relationships have nothing to do with age, but about finding the right person. And sometimes, meeting the right person can be found in the most unexpected places. Julie has been very cautious about it, hence her lack of experience. I’m not going to further elaborate on this one, so that I won’t spill out any spoilers. At the end of the day, what matters most is that present and true love requires taking risks.

Overall, That Kind of Guy is another fascinating book by Mina V. Esguerra. I didn’t regret to pick up this book. And I’m definitely looking forward to her other works.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

4 responses to “That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra

Leave a Reply

