Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe? by Hazel Osmond

I first discovered this title, Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe?, last year from Chachic of Chachic’s Book Nook. At that time, I was still hesitant to explore new works from new authors, afraid that I might not end up liking the book. Several months later, though, something urged me to pick up this book and read it. I guess my mood also affects my reading preferences. Anyway, the plot suddenly intrigued me, so I immediately bought a copy from Book Depository.

Here’s the summary from the back cover of the book:

Ellie thinks she’s in love.

But then, she doesn’t know Jack…

Ellie Somerset loves her career-obsessed boyfriend Sam and she loves her job as an advertising copywriter. But Sam is always at work and her fresh ideas keep being overlooked.

Her life gets more complicated when her new boss Jack Wolfe – Heathcliff in a Suit – arrives at the agency. With his brooding good looks, trademark scowl and plans for change, he challenges Ellie to smarten up and prove herself.

To Ellie’s horror, she finds herself both repelled and attracted to the sexy and dangerous Jack. But this particular wolf has an awful lot to hide…

Who’s afraid of Mr Wolfe? Not Ellie.

Not until it’s far too late.

I have to admit, the book cover easily catches my attention. It projects a romantic aura that sparks my curiosity on how the characters’ lives will be intertwined. Plus, the texts on the cover are also printed in glitters! With that said, I won’t deny that both factors pushed me further to read this book ASAP.

Getting a glimpse of how an advertising agency company works behind the scenes fascinates me. The output of a project may seem simple, but the process of coming up with a fresh, creative, and unique idea is the hardest, especially during a pitch presentation wherein the creative team must sell their concept. I really learned a lot from this book. One of the crucial points required in advertising is that the team should show how they strongly believe in the product in order to be motivated to attract the audience and make a positive long-lasting impression of the product ad. Reading this makes me feel nostalgic over my college days when our class did a marketing paper on a niche product. The experience surely was hard, but worthwhile.

As the title suggests, one might think that a werewolf would be literally involved in the story. But no, Hazel Osmond merely utilizes the name as a metaphor.

Jack Wolfe, whom Ellie Somerset regards as Heathcliff and is likened to have a wolf-like behavior and appearance, becomes an antagonist at one point in Ellie’s life. Jack and Ellie often engage in arguments, squeezing in humorous lines here and there that end up offending either one of the parties. There are parts which makes me crack up silently and reread those witty lines again. They’re just fun to read because of the metaphorical meaning. Moving on, despite their unfriendly remarks to one another, I like how their relationship with each other slowly develops. This proves that beneath Jack’s wolf-iness which tends to make him an insensitive jerk, there’s also a gentler, more loving and caring side of him. Add to that his perfect look and stature, too. He would undoubtedly make girls swoon over him.

Jack and Ellie may be in denial, but it’s pretty obvious how both of them are strongly attracted to one another. The things Jack does for Ellie might give a wrong impression on her, leading her to more confusion, but we know his true intentions – he’s just not straightforward with his feelings. The same goes for Ellie as well. But as readers, we come to understand their point of views and inner thoughts. I like how we become spectators in each of their lives because it makes us fully comprehend their actions and feelings.

And Ellie’s Great-Aunt Edith – oh, I just love her. She acts like a mother who tries to look out for Ellie and sometimes, to enlighten Ellie’s confused feelings. Their bond is certainly strong and it shows that they really need each other’s support once in a while.

Moving on to Ellie, throughout the course of the story, we can see that she’s a changed, better person in the end. From the timid, introvert woman she was, she becomes more confident, with self-esteem, and more outspoken. Evidently, Ellie’s interactions with Jack, Edith, Lesley, and the endeavors she faced have greatly affected her life as a person.

It’s amazing how Hazel Osmond brilliantly and creatively structures her sentences that make the story more addictive to read. She just knows when to use the perfect words and metaphors, depending on the mood of the scenes. Furthermore, I came to love the characters as well. I may not have experienced what they experienced, but somehow, I still feel connected to them – I feel and understand what they feel. In fact, this is one of the few books that touched my heart deeply to the point where I even got teary-eyed at some parts.

All in all, I really enjoyed the book to the fullest. I never thought the story would be this good! The author did not fail to get me so absorbed in the story. Up to now, I still can’t get over the Jack and Ellie moments. They simply make me feel giddy inside. Reading this definitely triggers my desire to have my own Jack Wolfe in my life, too. Nuff said.

So, if any of you want to temporarily get away from the stress life is giving you, this would be the perfect book to read. I must say, it’s effective.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

4 responses to “Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe? by Hazel Osmond

Leave a Reply

