Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James

I’ve been encountering this title for quite some time now, but somehow, I kept ignoring it. I guess the title and the book cover aren’t eye-catching enough to attract my attention. However, curiosity got the best of me when I came across the title again as I was browsing through the best selling audio books. I read the summary and that’s the time when I finally understood what the hype was all about. It didn’t just end there because I decided to buy a copy.

Here’s the summary from the back cover of the book:

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

My reaction after reading this book can be summarized into this statement: Curiosity killed the cat. The story is far from my expectation and it disappoints me that I didn’t end up liking the book.

Ana, a naïve and inexperienced college graduate, falls for a guy like Christian Grey, a successful yet control freak entrepreneur. At a glance, it seems that Christian already has everything in a package, but beneath the surface, he’s not at all what he seems or what we expect. I really don’t understand why Ana allows herself to be needy and desperate. She evidently becomes helpless when Christian is around. As much as she is confused with her decision, I also got confused with her emotional turmoil.

Furthermore, throughout the story, I feel that the characters remain static. To me, the impression I have of them from the beginning remains the same until the end. The relationship Christian Grey and Ana shared is built from a weak foundation. One has to be dominant while the other is submissive just so the agreement could work. Although it’s nice to read that Christian shares a lot of first experiences with Ana, I don’t think what they have is even called a relationship. Their actions are even supposed to be constricted to a contract.

Overall, I believe the story is written poorly. I find some statements repetitive – the author keeps using the words “inner goddess” and phrases that involves lip-biting. Plot-wise, the book comes out as shallow and senseless for me. There’s no depth in it. In fact, it frustrates me that this book made it to the bestselling list – perhaps it’s because of the graphic content. People may have different views regarding this book, but I guess my stand would be the same with those who dislike it. I don’t think I would read the remaining books in the trilogy.

I’ve heard that this book is originally a Twilight fan fiction, and to be honest, comparing the two series, I would prefer Twilight more than this. But despite my disappointment in this book, I don’t think this should hinder other people to read it. If you enjoy erotic fiction, then Fifty Shades is the one for you.

 

 

 

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

2 responses to “Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James

  • Tin

    I think this book isn’t for me. It seems too raunchy. Oh it’s a Twilight fan fiction? I didn’t expect that, especially since they are of different genres. Inner goddess? LOL! 😀

    • Rhin

      I didn’t actually understand what’s up with the inner goddess thing. It’s kind of irritating. haha! Yeah, Fifty Shades is really different from Twilight. And I heard this book is going to be made into a movie!

Leave a Reply

