Lorien Legacies, Book Three: The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore

The wait is finally over: The Rise of Nine is here! This is already the third installment in the Lorien Legacies series and I’m so eager to get my hands on it.

Here’s the plot description from the back cover of the book:

THEY know the charm is broken.

THEY know we’re all in danger now.

THEY are determined to find us before

WE find each other.

WE must come together.

WE are Lorien and Earth’s only hope, and

WE are prepared to sacrifice everything.

POWER IN NUMBERS WILL SAVE US ALL.

I’m almost on the brink of forgetting the things that happened in the previous books given the fact that each book is being released only once a year, but thankfully, some details in this book help me refresh my memories and recall significant information that will be crucial in the plot. And as expected, The Rise of Nine did not disappoint me.

From afar, the book cover design is already too impressive to ignore. But wait until you get a hold of the book. The front cover amazes me as it has a different texture than the normal book cover paper. Since the cover depicts a symbol engraved in the sand, the surface has a sandy feel on it, too. Cool, huh?

Moving on, The Rise of Nine is told in three different alternating point of views – through Four/John Smith, Seven/Marina, and Six’s. Surprisingly, one can easily distinguish whose POV it is at every chapter because of the varied fonts used. To give you a short gist of the story, Sam and Four goes into the base of the Mogadorians to retrieve his Chest and that’s where they meet and rescue Nine. However, Sam is unable to escape the Mogadorian base and Four and Nine start to dislike one another due to personality dissimilarity. Meanwhile, Six, Marina, Ella, and Crayton travel to India to find another member of the Garde, who is alleged to be the god Vishnu, but turns out to be Eight. And their adventures begin from there. They have to work together to defeat the Mogadorians, especially Setrákus Ra, and save Earth from destruction.

Others might ask what happens to Sam. Sadly, though, he is only mentioned in the book. I do hope he’ll appear in the next book. On the brighter side, we now know that he’ll play an important role in the story, as proven by the role of his father to the Lorics. As for Sarah Hart, well, who won’t be angry at her for what she did on the previous book. I’m a bit annoyed by how John can’t seem to move on, that he’s still blinded by his love for her. But then again, I’m open to giving her the benefit of the doubt.

What amazes me more is the Gardes’ Chests. The Chest holds something special, an inheritance from the Elders and everything in it has a purpose. Readers get to see the powers of some objects in the Chests of some Gardes. They haven’t been fully utilized yet, but I’m definitely looking forward to the moment where all the things in the Chest will be maximized.

Plus, the Gardes Legacies! All the members of the Garde have not completely developed their Legacies yet, but we get to see some powerful Legacies emerging from each member. I’m eager to find out what all of them are capable of. On the other hand, I’m very much interested in the powers of Ella. She’s the youngest of the Garde, as well as the tenth member, so her powers are still slowly being developed. I’m really curious about how powerful she’ll become. And since one of them will possess the power of Pittacus Lore, I wonder who would that be? Do you guys have any idea? I’m rooting for Ella! Hihi!

Overall, the pacing of the story is just right. Full of thrills, suspense, and actions, the book keeps me interested and hooked, turning page after page after page, never wanting to put it down. It’s like once you start, you can’t stop. And I feel that I’m inside the book as well. When the characters are tense, I also feel the same way. I want to fight with them and help them in ways that only readers will know, like a shared secret between them and us, the readers.

As always, the ending leaves the story hanging. There are still questions left unanswered and I so want to get my hands on the next book already. Sadly, I have to wait for another year before it’s released – if the next scheduled release date is next year. I guess I’ll just have to be patient.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

One response to “Lorien Legacies, Book Three: The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore

Leave a Reply

