Project: Fairy Tale Sign Up Post

(Banner created and designed by Alisa over at Picture Me Reading)

When Alison from The Cheap Reader announced on Twitter that she’ll be hosting a project on fairy tales, well, since then, I anticipated the day she’ll post the details about it. The day came and I couldn’t seem to contain my excitement! I didn’t hesitate to join immediately. Details about the project can be found here.

Fairy tales have basically become a part of us already – from the original versions, childhood stories, modern and classic retellings, to TV series, animations, and film adaptations. They somehow grow with us and can continuously go on for as long as time will allow them to. To be honest, I’m not very much familiar with most fairy tale retellings as I grew up only watching several Disney fairy tale movies. Years after, though, I began reading Fables (Vertigo) graphic novels by Bill Willingham and watched the recent Once Upon A Time TV series. But when I started blogging, it was only then that I read a few other fairy tale retellings.

I chose Beauty and the Beast as my fairy tale. Beauty by Robin McKinley has been on my to-buy and to-be-read lists for weeks now – all the more reason to join the project. Factoring in the availability in the market, here are the three books I’ve chosen to review for Project: Fairy Tale:

Beauty by Robin McKinley

Rose Daughter by Robin McKinley

Belle: A Retelling of “Beauty and the Beast” by Cameron Dokey

Before I post the book reviews, I plan to post an introduction first, comparing the original version of Beauty and the Beast to the Disney film version, since that’s the only fairy tale retelling movie I’ve watched. Plus, I haven’t read the original version of Beauty and the Beast yet. In fact, I haven’t familiarized myself with several original fairy tales.

If you guys happen to think of a good book title, feel free to comment and suggest. I’m really looking forward to this project. This will certainly provide an avenue to broaden my knowledge on fairy tales.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

13 responses to “Project: Fairy Tale Sign Up Post

  • Tin

    Cool project! I’ll look forward to your reviews! And I hope you enjoy Mckinley’s Beauty. 🙂

  • Project: Fairy Tale + Sign Up « The Cheap Reader

    […] @ The Cheap Reader— Rapunzel Rhin @ Perfect Nostalgia— Beauty and the Beast Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide— Cinderella Katie @ Words for Worms— Little […]

  • Alice in Readerland

    I love ‘Beauty and The Beast’; can’t wait to see your reviews! 🙂 I signed up for Project: Fairy Tale too!

  • Amanda @ Late Nights with Good Books

    So excited to read someone else’s thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast” and its subsequent retellings! Beaumont’s version is definitely considered the classic one, so that would be the one to use as a basis for comparison, although it might be interesting just to look at Villeneuve’s version that also originated at the same time. That one is longer and goes on tangents and subplots though.

    In terms of novels: I highly recommend both Beauty and Rose Daughter. Beauty is a more literal retelling while Rose Daughter allowed McKinley to take some liberties. Beast by Donna Jo Napoli also tries to stay pretty close to the original tale, but from the Beast’s perspective, which is nice. Belle by Cameron Dokey is okay, but it definitely wasn’t one of my favorites. Maybe because it’s more juvenile and aimed for a younger audience. For novels I’d also recommend Juliet Marillier’s Heart’s Blood. It’s an example of something that alludes to the “Beauty and the Beast” tale while being fully its own creation and more historical fiction than anything else. I did not like Beastly by Alex Flinn.

    I’d also recommend some short stories – there are tons of fantastic ones. Angela Carter has two in her collection The Bloody Tower, “The Courtship of Mr. Lyon” and “The Tiger’s Bride” (the second is better). Francesca Lia Block has a minimalist story “Beast” in her The Rose and the Beast which is good.

    Also the website Sur La Luna Fairy Tales is a fantastic resource.

    I hope this isn’t overwhelming – I just love sharing this information with people!

  • Beauty and the Beast « Perfect Nostalgia

    […] you’ve known, the fairy tale I’ve chosen is Beauty and the Beast (my sign up post can be found here). I believe there are a lot of Beauty and the Beast versions before, but I decided to choose the […]

  • Project: Fairy Tale Master Post | The Cheap Reader

    […] Rhin @ Perfect Nostalgia— Beauty and the Beast […]

  • Rachael

    Looking forward to all your amazing reviews. Beauty and the Beast disney movie is such a classic.

  • Quinn

    Beauty by Robin McKinley is good. I am also going to suggest Beastly by Alex Flinn. It’s a modern day retelling, and told from the Beast’s POV. It’s also a really quick read.

    • Rhin

      I have actually read Beastly by Alex Flinn already before I started blogging, but I didn’t very much enjoy the read. I agree, with you, however, that Beauty by Robin McKinley is good.

Leave a Reply

