Every Day by David Levithan

To be honest, I’ve never read any of David Levithan’s books yet, not until I heard of Every Day. As simple as the title may sound, the premise of the story holds something more and it intrigued me enough to get a copy for myself. Here’s the plot description from the back cover of the book:

Every day I am someone else. I am myself – I know I am myself – but I am also someone else. It has always been like this.

Every morning, A wakes in a different person’s body, a different person’s life. There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

With his new novel, David Levithan has pushed himself to new creative heights. He has written a captivating story that will fascinate readers as they begin to comprehend the complexities of life and love in A’s world, as A and Rhiannon seek to discover if you can truly love someone who is destined to change every day.

While I am reading the book, I keep thinking that this is probably what it feels like to literally be in somebody else’s shoes. A’s in a rather peculiar situation. Readers might wonder why his name merely consists of a single letter and people will further question his nature and gender. There’s no definite distinction if A’s a male or female, but I just assume he’s a male. Basically, he is capable of inhabiting bodies of the same age as his. The only downside of this is that A cannot control it willingly.

Every chapter elaborates the life of A for a day in a body he inhabits. But is he really a human or merely an entity that exists in space? It’s really hard to find proof of his existence. There’s no exact explanation why A’s like that or how he is made to be like that. It’s a mystery and it’s hard to grasp this fact to convince anyone to believe. However, the types of bodies he inhabits and his interactions with people of diverse personalities and kinds deepen the story more. It gives him an open mind and a wider perspective about life that lets him learn new insights from every different angle of surrounding or environment he’s into.

It’s hard to imagine myself in A’s position. There may be times when I wish I could spend a day in a different body, but I know that moving from one body to another every day will not allow me ample time to get to know a person more and I would surely dread that. Moreover, it will be outside my comfort zone, which isn’t exactly my strong point. It might be exciting to experience what A experiences, but then, you’re always distant, with no sense of belonging or whatsoever. Maybe this is also the reason why he is easily attracted to Rhiannon because of the connection they shared.

On the other hand, A’s capability to inhabit a different body every day somehow gives him a true sense of freedom as well. He can freely do anything (harmful or not) without ever getting caught, but his conscience keeps him guided to make the right choices.

As I am reading the book, at first, I wanted to smack his head to give him some sense. He acts so selfishly as he puts Rhiannon ahead over the lives he inhabits. It seems unfair and childish for others, but as the story progresses, readers will slowly see the changes in A. He becomes more mature and selfless that I come to sympathize with him more.

Overall, the book amused me by its originality and the uniqueness of the storyline keeps me turning page after page. As much as I’m curious about how A will adapt to the body, there are times when I wish I could learn more about the other people he inhabits, too. I’m also amazed by how philosophical the book turns out to be. It makes the point of the importance of just being. The book certainly tackles a lot of things about life and I guess readers can extract life-changing lessons from this book, like how we always focus on the past and what’s to come that we often take the present for granted.

After reading this book, all I end up saying is, WOW. The storyline is so unexpected and bittersweet and everything I never thought it would be. David Levithan surely has a way to capture my heart. He tries to convey a deeper message that is hard to explain in simple words. This book has definitely opened my mind about life, too. The events in the book may not exactly happen in real life, but it makes me reflect on the idea about the willingness to accept change every day, about sacrifice, about risks, about love, and especially about the present. Every Day leaves me satisfied yet curious of what’s to happen to A. This will not disappoint you.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

2 responses to “Every Day by David Levithan

  • Tin

    I have been eyeing David Levithan books for some time now but haven’t gotten around reading one too. I kept hearing about his books (with co-author Rachel Cohn) Dash and Lily’s, Nick and Norah’s and there is also The Lover’s Dictionary. I have to now add Everyday to that list because like you said the story really is unique. It’s like role-playing, but for real, if that makes sense. 😀

Leave a Reply

