Infinity Ring, Book Two: Divide and Conquer by Carrie Ryan

After reading the first book, I was quite interested in what’s to happen in the next book. Fortunately, I didn’t need to buy the second book. During the 33rd Manila International Book Fair, we were eligible to join a raffle in order to win the second book of the series when we bought the first book. Much to my surprise, I won the raffle and thus, got the book for free!

Here’s the summary from the back cover of the book:

infinity ring, book two - divide and conquer coverHundreds of ships carrying thousands of Viking warriors are attacking medieval Paris. The Parisians are fighting back, but they can only last so long. And that’s bad news — especially since Dak has been captured and forced to work with the invading army while Sera and Riq defend Paris from within. No matter which side wins, the kids will lose . . . unless Dak can find an ally among the vicious Vikings.

I’m not familiar with the Siege of Paris that happened in 885 so this sparked my curiosity about how this event has become a significant part of history. I have to warn though, that those who don’t know what exactly happened in the Siege of Paris in reality should not take the content of this book as a fact. As informative and educational as the book can be, the series intend to make a twist out of the plot by changing parts of the history so this might confuse a few. And trust me, I have to keep reminding myself of that. So yeah, just don’t mix up the real history with this one.

Moving on, once again, Dak, Sera, and Riq transported into a war period and this could endanger their lives. It’s hard to imagine being involved in real life war. If I were in their shoes, I wouldn’t know what to do. I might just cowardly hide myself, curled up in a corner and wait until everything is finished. Thinking this reminds me of how my parents have survived during the Martial Law in our country, as well as the Second World War which I believe my grandparents were part of while they were young at that time. Scary thoughts came into my mind and I was glad that I wasn’t born during those dark days yet.

Anyway, in this book, readers can now get more glimpses of the Remnants of Sera. No exact explanation or elaboration has taken place, but somehow, we start to comprehend what the Remnants are all about. I’m quite disappointed that Riq’s Remnants haven’t yet been fully revealed. However, in this book, we get to see a little more of Riq as he is slowly opening up his heart to show his true self.

It’s quite surprising that while I read through the book, I have not become biased as to which group to side with. With Dak separated from Sera and Riq which forced him to work with the Vikings, I have come to see the softer side of the Vikings and more or less feel a bit more sympathetic towards them. Furthermore, I also agree with some of Dak’s realizations at some point that the written history can be clouded by judgment, depending on who wrote it. It seems unfair to those who merely pass on their words orally. In this case, questioning the accuracy of history is reasonable.

The pacing of the story at the beginning starts off slow which took me a while to get past that portion. As the story progresses, it gets more interesting with the battle and everything. Overall, I still enjoyed the book. I’m quite fond of Vígi, Rollo’s dog, and it’s fun to read how she slowly takes a liking to Dak. Aside from that, the bond she and her master shares is so heartwarming and inspiring, makes me love and appreciate my pet dogs more. At the end of the day, the book will convince you enough to pick up the third book. Not a bad read indeed.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

