A Girl Like You by Gemma Burgess

I stumbled upon this title while I was browsing through the blogosphere before. Upon checking the summary, I thought that the premise looks promising, so I decided to buy a copy. I always enjoy reading chick lits and I can confidently say that this book was no exception.

Here’s the plot description from the back cover of the book:

A Girl Like You cover“I’ve discovered the secret to successful singledom. I’m acting like a man. And it’s working.”

After breaking up with her boyfriend of, well, forever, Abigail Wood must learn how to be single from scratch.

Her dating skills are abysmal, and she ricochets from disaster to disaster – until Robert, one of London’s most notorious lotharios, agrees to coach her.

With his advice, she learns to navigate the bastard-infested waters of the bar scene and practices the art of being bulletproof. The new Abigail is cocky, calm, composed… but what happens when she meets her match?

Intriguing, isn’t it? Being together with someone for several years and then suddenly breaking up would definitely give you a shock of your life. From doing things together, one suddenly ends up alone, doing things alone and I’m pretty sure you won’t get used to that kind of lifestyle immediately. In Abigail’s case, she encounters that. However, with the help of Robert’s expertise in dating, perhaps Abigail could survive and enjoy her status of being single once again, well, until she meets the right man for her.

Dating, as highlighted in this book, is about fun. It’s not the avenue to look for one’s future partner, based on Robert’s definition. And as time passes, Abigail slowly gets the hang of it and eventually enjoys what she’s doing. Taken from the point of view of Abigail, the book introduces me to the thoughts and feelings of Abigail. I actually like being in her head and at the same time, become the spectator of her life. Her side comments going in her mind are just funny and at times, pardon my word, bitchy. I can feel her thoughts, like she’s sharing secrets with me while no one else knows and this makes me empathize with her. There are times, though, during her desperate and insecure moments, when I just want to dive into the book, slap some sense out of her, and you know, be her friend when she seems hopeless and couldn’t tell whatever she’s thinking to her friends, sister, and family.

Furthermore, I may not have experienced what Abigail does, but her dating phase surely opened my eyes to the side of the world where I’m not familiar with. Her interaction with different men of varied personalities also made me get to know them too, but of course, my impression on them is based on Abigail’s. Somehow, it still broaden my knowledge of the possibility that the men she meets may exist in real life and perhaps this will serve as a preparation on how to respond when I am faced with a similar situation as Abigail.

While the story centers on dating, I guess the theme of this book is also about finding the right person to love. It is inevitable to compare and contrast the men Abigail meets with each other and I can’t help rooting a certain person to hopefully end up with Abigail in the end. All the things that happened throughout the book make me reflect on the things I learned about true love in one of my Theology classes in college. Surprisingly, the outcome of the story justifies my perception about love and I’m happy with it. I won’t reveal who Abigail ends up with, but I can say that what happened serves as a proof that true love still exists.

Gemma Burgess certainly did an amazing job coming up with an exciting storyline full of emotions, funny dialogues, sweet and scandalous moments, and some bitchy characters. Readers will laugh, smile, and cry with the characters. If you were to ask me what my favorite scene is, I, without a doubt, would choose the wedding scene where the best man gives his speech. It’s the sweetest thing ever said and it’s nice to be able to witness the whole thing through words. I could never ask for a better ending than this. Overall, this book is a nice escape from all the stress one is experiencing. In my case, it absolutely helps.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

6 responses to “A Girl Like You by Gemma Burgess

Leave a Reply

