The 39 Clues: Cahills VS Vespers, Book Six: Day of Doom by David Baldacci

Okay, so when this book was released, I was quite ecstatic to get a copy of this ASAP. Who wouldn’t? Any fan of The 39 Clues would be thrilled to find out what will happen to Amy and Dan, to the Rosenblooms, to the seven hostages, and most especially when Vesper One’s identity is revealed. Moreover, Day of Doom is also the final book of the series. Or so I thought.

Here’s the plot description from the back cover of the book:

39 Clues - Day of Doom coverThe Ultimate Sacrifice

It started with a kidnapping. A shadowy organization known only as the Vespers snatched seven members of the Cahill family and demanded a series of bizarre ransoms from around the world. Thirteen-year-old Dan Cahill and his older sister, Amy, began a global treasure hunt, determined to bring back whatever Vesper One needed, so long as it kept the hostages safe.

But when they deliver the last ransom, Amy and Dan discover Vesper One’s terrifying endgame. The objects he demanded are vital pieces in a Vesper plot that will harm millions of innocent people. Now the two siblings and their friends are in an all-out sprint to stop Vesper One . . . before the whole world goes BOOM.

Before anything else, after reading this, I would like to say that Amy and Dan Cahill’s adventures are not yet done! Another The 39 Clues series will be released sometime in the fourth quarter of the year. But fear not, Day of Doom ends with a closure, so you won’t be expecting any cliff hangers. A teaser at the end of the book only gives us a clue that there’s still more than what meets the eye.

To be honest, I’ve seen mixed reviews of this final book of Cahills VS Vespers series, wherein mostly are not that positive. I tried to be open-minded when I began reading the book, but as I read through it, I finally came to understand the things people found disappointing.

While I was reading the book, I did notice a lot of things. The way it is written just seems a bit off. I don’t know, it’s like the book is suddenly catered to a much younger audience. As opposed to the previous books, Day of Doom becomes a bit too childish in its choice of words and how sentences are structured. I also find some scenes to be repetitive, such as Dan’s constant rolling of eyes whenever he sees Amy and Jake looking lovey-dovey with each other. And finally, the author somehow keeps stating the obvious, like everything HAS to be written in words in order to be understood. I find myself actually annoyed by this.

Furthermore, I also agree with what the others are saying about how the characters appear to be different in terms of their behaviors and personalities. The way they talk and how they react makes them become different in comparison to the other books. And this feels like the author hasn’t fully known the characters, as he merely makes use of their main characteristics. I also notice a lot of nickname usage that I find unnecessary. Since when does Amy have two nicknames? And Vesper One’s real name gets a nickname as well. Inconsistency in names annoys me, too.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the story and the plotline is just as interesting as the other books. I have no problems with how the story develops and how it ends. I guess I just expected too much from this book. Although I can’t wait for the next series. I wonder what will be in store for us.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

One response to “The 39 Clues: Cahills VS Vespers, Book Six: Day of Doom by David Baldacci

Leave a Reply

