Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Tin @ Rabbitin’s review of this book convinced me enough to acquire a copy of the said book. I was actually supposed to read it for Christmas late this year, knowing that I can be patient and since the book is set during Christmas. But then, I found myself running out of books to read, so lo and behold, I had decided to buy a copy ASAP and read it.

Here’s the plot description from the back cover of the book:

Dash and Lily's Book of Dares cover“I’ve left some clues for you.

If you want them, turn the page.

If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

The beginning of the book already got me hooked! It’s quite a different kind of book as compared to others and I guess this was what urged me to further read through it. As mentioned earlier, Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares is set during Christmas and is told in alternating point of views of Dash and Lily. Who would’ve thought that their paths would cross with merely the use of a red notebook.

The idea of this red notebook intrigues me enough to be curious as to what Dash would do when he stumbles upon it. The content of the first page of the notebook already challenges the person to a puzzle. Even I was eager to figure out the answer and as Dash tries to solve it, it’s like I am there with Dash, too. I really wanted to participate in this exciting experience. And this reason alone keeps me glued to the book.

After finishing the puzzle, Dash wants something more, hence the title. The red notebook becomes a Book of Dares which Dash and Lily write to challenge each other. The notebook is their only way of communicating – not the usual exchange of text messages, calls, chats, letters, etc. that we often read in other books. And this notebook turns out to be more than just giving dares. It becomes a bridge to their unexpected friendship that will later on bloom to something more.

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan surely did an amazing job crafting such a unique, beautiful, and inspiring story. I find myself rooting for the main characters. One thing that’s great about this book is that the minor characters also play significant roles in the story. I can’t help but come to love them as much as I love Dash and Lily. Each person possesses different types of personalities; thus, they react to situations differently. Furthermore, I’m entertained by how Dash and Lily are portrayed in the story. Dash’s value for words is shown in his imaginative and witty thinking. Lily, on the other hand, just takes life seriously and wants to make every moment of the Christmas season worthwhile. They might have exaggerated some parts a bit to the point of being far-fetched, but nevertheless, I still enjoy reading their story. And the more I read, the more I want to get to know and love them. It’s really nice to know what’s going on in their minds for a change.

Overall, I truly enjoyed the book to the fullest. This is one of the rare books where I literally laughed while reading through some parts and it even made me take a walk down memory lane. You see, it’s hard to put the book down. Guilty as charged, I even brought the book to work and read with every window of opportunity I come across. It was so much fun. Even some passages convey deep meanings that will make one stop, reread the passage again, and reflect. I’m glad to have read this book sooner. Rachel Cohn and David Levithan’s writing style will definitely haunt you. In short, I didn’t expect to fall in love with Dash and Lily’s story. Readers will certainly yearn to have their own version of their red notebooks.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

5 responses to “Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

  • picturemereading

    I have heard this one is really good!

  • Tin (Rabbitin)

    Yay, you’ve read the book! I’m so happy that you loved it! *jumps up and down* 😀

    In a way, this kind of reminded me, just a little bit, of Perks of Being a Wallflower, with all the introspection and quotable quotes. I also like the minor characters and I agree about them being significant to the story. I particularly liked the aunt, Mrs. Basil E. And even Dash’s ex girlfriend. I liked what she said about fairy tales not being just for girls.

    And there were really some exaggerated parts no? But we can easily forgive that because the rest is awesome. 🙂

    And Thanks for linking me! *continues to jump up and down*

    • Rhin

      Hey, Tin! You’re welcome! And thanks for introducing me to this book! ^_^

      Yes, there are, indeed, lots of quotable quotes, but this book is way funnier than The Perks of Being a Wallflower. The latter is more serious than this. I really kept on laughing at Dash’s remark on the wax figures that some artist will be on the forgotten closet at some point. It’s really nostalgic when he mentioned the Backstreet Boys, Spice Girls, NSYNC.. Ah, the artists of our generation.

      • Tin (Rabbitin)

        True, this one’s lighter than Perks. And Dash’s wax figures commentary was pretty funny indeed. And incidentally, I was a huge Spice Girls fan growing up. (Girl Power!) And to a lesser degree, BSB. (I want it that way…tell me why…) Haha!

Leave a Reply

