A Moment of Awareness

Last April 13, 2013, I found out that Gary Valenciano will be celebrating his 30th Anniversary in the industry in ASAP 18, a local musical variety show broadcasted by ABS-CBN. I was excited to know about this and actually looked forward to it. So on the day itself, I turned my television on by noon and waited for the show to start.

Once the show began, I was glad I didn’t have to wait too long for his performance number. I didn’t want to miss any detail so I kept my eye on the television the whole time. And lo and behold, during one of the videos shown with Gary Valenciano’s close friends/artists/relatives delivering messages to him, pictures of him are displayed on the screen and one of the pictures used was taken from my blog post about Gary V’s concert LAST YEAR. I didn’t want to assume immediately, since it was merely shown in a few seconds. But I immediately checked my blog if there was any similarities and waited it to be uploaded in YouTube to confirm this breakthrough.

This was the picture from my blog:

Gary V Concert

After a few days, I saw the official video posted in YouTube and this was what I saw which I screen-captured it:

Gary V 30th_YouTube

Posting both pictures side by side, anyone can tell that it’s identical. I wanted to believe that maybe someone had taken the same picture as well, but if you think about it, all angles and lightings were the same. Even the body poses of the subjects were similar. Those details alone proved that the picture was mine.

gary v

I’m not sure who copied the picture from my blog. Don’t get me wrong, I was actually flattered for them to use the picture I took despite the fact that I’m not a professional photographer. However, it would have been better if they informed me or asked permission at the least (I put the blog link on the picture at the bottom and they removed it!). Everything that happened had taken me by surprise. Now I’m not sure if the other pictures were “stolen” from others as well.

So now, the question is, is this considered as copyright infringement? Whatever the case is, I guess I learned my lesson. To protect the pictures we own as we post it online, better make sure to show evidence that they are, indeed, ours. Putting watermarks on pictures can be one solution.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

