Classics Retold Sign Up Post

classicsretold

Last February, Alison @ The Cheap Reader hosted Project: Fairy Tale in which I joined and tackled Beauty and the Beast. The rest of my blog posts for the project can be found under the Blog Activities category.

Now, there’s going to be an upcoming project again, entitled Classics Retold, and this time, as the title suggests, it’s going to be about classics and their adaptations, sequels, retellings, and spin-offs! The project will be hosted by: Alison @ The Cheap Reader, Alyssa @ Books Take You Places, Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy, Wendy @ Excellent Library, and Brittany @ Book Addict’s Guide. Details of the project can be found here.

The project will be held in September and since five (5) bloggers are hosting it, the classics are divided into five (5) categories as well (Ancient to Renaissance Lit Classics, Mythology Classics, 19th Century and Gothic Classics, Children’s Classics, and American & Misc. Classics). I have chosen The Secret Garden as my classic, so it’s going to be under Children’s Classic.

These are the books I’ll be reading for the project:

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett – the original classic

The Forgotten Room by Stacie Morrell – a sequel to the classic

The Humming Room by Ellen Potter – a retelling of the classic

The Aviary by Kathleen O’Dell – I heard that there’s a little element of The Secret Garden here so I’ll give this book a try

If you guys happen to know more good retellings or sequels or anything of my chosen classic, feel free to let me know. This is definitely a great opportunity to appreciate the classics once again. I can’t wait for this another exciting project!

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

6 responses to “Classics Retold Sign Up Post

  • Alison

    If you have time the movie adaption from the 90’s was pretty cute. You should watch it if you can.

  • Amanda @ Late Nights with Good Books

    I am so excited for this! And I’m glad you’re participating too, Rhin! Of all the books that you’ve listed, I’ve only read the classic. I enjoyed The Secret Garden well enough and am interested to read about the retellings/reimaginings of this particular tale that you’ll read. 🙂

    • Rhin

      Thanks, Amanda! I’m excited for this, too! To be honest, I’m not a big fan of classics, but I still want to read some of them given the opportunity at the least. I hope I’ll enjoy The Secret Garden. Can’t wait for September to come and start this project.

  • Alice in Readerland

    I adore The Secret Garden, so I’m really interested to see what retellings you read! 🙂 I joined this project too (I chose Sherlock Holmes). 🙂

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    • Rhin

      This would be the first time I’ll be reading The Secret Garden. And I’m excited to read its retellings/sequels/adaptations, too.

      Yey! So glad you could join.

Leave a Reply

