The Sandman: The Story of Sanderson Mansnoozie by William Joyce

Okay, so I was looking forward to reading this book, but it took me a while to acquire a copy. I was in conflict with my decision on where to buy it, whether from a local bookstore or from Book Depository. I was informed that Fully Booked will be having copies of this, but their orders haven’t yet arrived, so I just reserved a copy if in case it arrived. In the end, my patience was tested and later on decided to just buy a copy from Book Depository.

Here’s the plot description from the jacket cover of the book:

The Sandman coverThe Man in the Moon has a problem.

Most nights, he beams down at the children of Earth, providing them with an inextinguishable nightlight that keeps nightmares at bay. But what happens when it’s foggy or cloudy? When the moon is less than full and bright? Who will keep the children safe at night?

He needs a helper! And he’s spied just the fellow: a sleepy little guy named Sanderson Mansnoozie (Sandy, for short), who might be perfect…if only the Man in the Moon can get him to wake up.

Sandman01Weee…  Sandman! Have you guys watched Rise of the Guardians? I have actually known the existence of these picture books and chapter books that William Joyce wrote when I found out about the movie. In fact, I thought the movie will be based on the books, but the movie has a totally different story, which I believe has happened hundreds of years after the books’ occurrences.

William Joyce once again does not disappoint in this second book in The Guardians of Childhood picture book series. As the title suggests, the book will be about Sandman this time around. The illustrations are still equally amazing as the ones in The Man in the Moon. I can’t get enough of the pictures drawn in great scrutiny as I turn each page slowly to savor each detail and color. Furthermore, the prose is written with simplicity, but William Joyce maintains to put rhymes here and there to make it lyrical.

Sandman02

The book certainly does not miss anything on Sandman’s history and on how and why he is chosen to become one of the Guardians of Childhood. I hope William Joyce will write the other guardians’ origins in his future picture books. The Sandman is truly one enjoyable, short read perfect for those who want to discover the magic behind dreams.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

2 responses to “The Sandman: The Story of Sanderson Mansnoozie by William Joyce

  • Tin (Rabbitin)

    Hey it’s Sandy! Loved him in the movie adaptation. He’s adorable. Hihi. Speaking of the movie, you mean, the story there isn’t from any of the books in The Guardians of Childhood series? Not among the 3? or is it 4 already?

    • Rhin

      I love Sandy too! I just wished he could speak in the movie. Yeah, the movie is different from the books. So far, there are two picture books, and three chapter books. The books happened before the movie, I believe. Because Santa Claus isn’t Santa Claus yet, if you know what I mean. And Jack Frost hasn’t appeared yet in the books, but I think he will be in the fourth chapter book.

Leave a Reply

