All’s Fair in Blog and War by Chrissie Peria

I was in need of a good chick lit to read, so when I saw Tin @ Rabbitin posted a review of this novella and, at the same time, hosted a giveaway, I immediately grabbed the opportunity to be one of the lucky winners to receive an ebook copy for free (yey!) via Smashwords. The premise of the story looks promising and Tin’s review just got me intrigued enough to want to read the whole story.

Here’s the plot description from Goodreads:

All's Fair in Blog and War coverFive Cuevas @fivetravels

Three guesses to where I’m going next. Starts with an M. Ends with a U. Has a lechon named after it. #travel

Travel blogger Five thinks she has hit the jackpot when the Macau Tourism Board invites her over for an all-expense-paid blogger tour in exchange for blogging about Macau. But while she happily signs up for the trip, she didn’t sign up to be travel buddies with the infuriating Jesse. Will her dream vacation turn into a nightmare junket? Or will falling in love be on the itinerary?

For one, isn’t the book cover eye-catching? It surely catches my attention – the colors used complement one another and the font just fits the story’s mood and genre. Evidently enough, the background scene depicts a tourist spot in Macau and more importantly, the story mainly involves two persons. How they will affect the flow of the story is up to the readers to find out.

One of the perks of having a focused blog is getting free stuffs! Bloggers who focus on fashion could receive fashion-related products and items or be invited to fashion shows or events; food bloggers are invited to dine for free by the restaurant in exchange for featuring their food and beverages being offered on their blogs; book bloggers could receive ARCs from publishers or authors; and in this case, in Five’s case, her travel blog has given her the privilege to be invited by a travel agency to go on an all-expense-paid trip to Macau.

Travel and photography enthusiasts will definitely enjoy this book. Chrissie Peria narrates the story well as she successfully demonstrates how travel bloggers work and what photographers generally look for when taking pictures of landscapes. I also love how Chrissie Peria emphasizes the brands of cameras used by Jesse and Five. It’s quite funny that I have actually understood the competition between the two brands as it was discussed one time by our cousin who dreams of becoming a professional photographer someday.

Chrissie Peria has surely proven to be knowledgeable in the subject of the story. Macau is featured with all those places, restaurants, and food portrayed in the book. I have been to Macau only once and if I’m not mistaken, we only visited the infamous Venetian. After reading this, I wish to visit the place again in the near future – tour the other places and eat the highly-recommended signature food of Macau mentioned in the story. Moreover, readers would certainly get a glimpse of Macau’s cultural and historical background. However, I have expected more descriptions and details from the narration.

And of course, the story wouldn’t be complete without the characters. I am highly entertained with Jesse and Five’s growing friendship. As I read further through the story, I am more invested in their relationship. Their character representation is realistic and relatable to the readers. I just wish their characterization is explored more, especially Jesse’s. I would want to know his thoughts and feelings throughout their trip.

Overall, if you want something light, short, and fun to read, this is for you. Without a doubt, I enjoyed the book from beginning until the end. In fact, when I don’t have my iPad with me at work, I find myself wondering what will happen next. This would surely not be my last Chrissie Peria work to read.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

5 responses to “All’s Fair in Blog and War by Chrissie Peria

Leave a Reply

