It Felt Like A Kiss by Sarra Manning

Do you know that feeling when your mood at a certain moment affects the book genre you want to read? Well, that happens to me a lot. Despite it being a bestselling book or something people have been raving about, my mood still factors in. So after reading Playing Autumn, I’m still in the mood for another chick lit. Hence, I decided to read It Felt Like A Kiss.

Here’s the plot description from the back cover of the book:

It Felt Like A Kiss coverEllie Cohen is living her dream. A great job at an exclusive Mayfair art gallery, loyal mates, loving family, and really, really good hair. Well, there’s the famous rock-star father who refuses to acknowledge her and a succession of ‘challenging’ boyfriends, but nobody’s perfect.

But when a vengeful ex sells Ellie out to the press, she suddenly finds herself fighting to keep her job, her reputation and her sanity. Then David Gold – handsome, charming but ruthlessly ambitious – is sent in to manage the media crisis . . . and Ellie.

David thinks she’s a gold-digger and Ellie thinks he’s a shark in a Savile Row suit, so it’s just as well that falling in love is the last thing on their minds . . .

When it comes to chick lits, I always adore the UK book cover designs. They may seem girly with all the sparkly-like or flowery designs and the choice of background colors, but what I love most is the inclusion of a character or two in the form of silhouette. Like this one! I don’t know why, but somehow, the silhouettes project a romantic feel about the book. And it makes me want to pick up the book more.

The storyline of It Felt Like A Kiss is not something rare or unusual to us. In the world of media and journalism, this happens a lot, especially to celebrities and artists. Journalists and paparazzi would look for ways to discover scandalous information about someone which could greatly affect the career, reputation, sanity, and dignity of that person. Harsh, but true. Yet despite my familiarity on this aspect, I’m still curious how Ellie would cope as she becomes the victim of media scandal, and also, how David Gold would fit into the picture and become Ellie’s love interest.

For a change, it’s nice to read about characters with different career paths. Ellie works in an art gallery and any reader could see that Ellie is passionate about her work and her enthusiasm towards arts is evident. The way Sarra Manning describes Ellie’s profession proves that she has fair knowledge and background in arts, which is quite impressive. Moreover, Sarra Manning’s works are not only limited to that area, as she has also portrayed characters that are into rock music. Even in her portrayal of David Gold as a lawyer is realistically convincing. The usage of technical terms lets me wonder if that’s how lawyers actually converse with others in reality.

At the beginning, I kind of immediately sympathize withEllie with regards to her love life. She seems to be always falling for the wrong guys and then comes the most unfortunate event of her life as her privacy has been compromised. Little does she know that this turn of event would be a blessing in disguise. I have actually adored Ellie immediately from the start. I may not have experienced what she goes through, but there are moments when I could see myself in her. I understand her need to always be in control and her OC-ness is simply justifiable for me. Well, it takes one to know one. LOL.

Moving on, the first portion of the book has started slow, but the story is able to pick itself up towards the middle. In between the present time, the story of Ari in her point of view is inserted to help readers understand what actually happened before Ellie is born and how everything started. The mystery begins to unravel itself and would leave different impressions on the characters and reactions from the readers. The saying, “First impressions don’t last.” best explains it. While reading this book, I have my fair share of confusion, anger, hurt, relief, contentment, and all other feelings Ellie has felt throughout the process. All that have happened are so realistic that I could find myself laughing silently or at times rolling my eyes.

It Felt Like A Kiss is the first Sarra Manning book I’ve read and I’m glad I decided to pick this up. The story keeps me entertained and the writing is simply animated and full of life. It’s written in great detail and the emotions portrayed can easily be felt by the readers. Aside from the book giving me a backdoor pass to the “dirty” world of media, reading about David Gold and Ellie’s relationship development is what I look forward to the most as I come to be so invested in their relationship. For a very thin person to be portrayed, David Gold is still worth swooning for. I highly enjoyed this book and I’ll certainly anticipate Sarra Manning’s future chick lit romance books.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

