How to Fall in Love by Cecelia Ahern

Cecelia Ahern has become one of my favorite authors ever since I’ve read PS, I Love You – the first book I’ve read written by her. I don’t miss any of her books after that as I’ve always been anticipating whenever she has a new book coming out. Thus, when I learned that her latest work, How to Fall in Love, was released, I immediately bought a copy from The Book Depository.

Here’s the plot description from the jacket cover of the book:

How to Fall in Love coverShe has just two weeks. Two weeks to teach him how to fall in love – with his own life.

Adam Basil and Christine Rose are thrown together late one night, when Christine is crossing the Ha’penny Bridge in Dublin. Adam is there, poised, threatening to jump.

Adam is desperate – but Christine makes a crazy deal with him. His 35th birthday is looming and she bets him that before then she can show him life is worth living.

Despite her determination, Christine knows what a dangerous promise she’s made. Against the ticking of the clock, the two of them embark on wild escapades, grand romantic gestures and some unlikely late-night outings. Slowly, Christine thinks Adam is starting to fall back in love with his life. But has she done enough to change his mind for good? And is that all that’s starting to happen?

I remember I used to buy Cecelia Ahern’s newly-released books in international airports whenever I go abroad because they seem to sell Cecelia Ahern’s books on time as compared to ours. If I’m not mistaken, it takes at least six months after the release date for our local bookstores to store her books. What’s more disappointing is that the ones that are released here are merely mass market paperback editions and the book cover designs aren’t that attractive as the first edition. So I’m happy to have discovered The Book Depository. That way, it becomes more accessible for me to buy UK books anytime and on time.

Moving on, in this story, we find Christine in a peculiar situation wherein she encounters two persons who attempt to commit suicide. One case doesn’t turn out as well as she hopes it would, while the other one Christine is able to prevent the worst that could happen. Talk about wrong place at the wrong time. Anyway, of these two persons, Cecelia Ahern centers her plotline on the second person, named Adam, and how Christine will be able to help him appreciate life once again.

We all encounter problems, depending on its level of depth, and how these affect us emotionally, psychologically, and physically differ from one person to another. As such, how we handle our obstacles also varies from one another. However, it’s not unusual to some of us, if not most, for having suicidal thoughts and more often than not, the darkness that invades us overshadows our capability for optimism. Hence, these thoughts will eventually lead to pursuing it. Committing suicides constantly happen not just in limited number of societies, but to all parts of the world as well. It’s such a disheartening feeling to hear news about these people, both young and old, ending their lives. And all these feelings Cecelia Ahern is able to realistically narrate successfully in her book without any hint of sugarcoating whatsoever. With this said, it becomes easier to present the conflict of the story to the readers and make them understand the characters’ situations and empathize with them better.

At the beginning, Christine already gives me the impression that she works as a therapist, but I got it wrong. On the other hand, I find her personality quite interesting. It’s evident that she has a way to connect with people easily and how she handles them in desperate situations amazes me. Readers will find her optimism inspiring and it’s funny how she bases her actions from her huge, I mean HUGE, collection of “How To” self-help books. On a serious note, there’s a deeper reason why Christine is portrayed like that. Her trying to fix everything and make everything right is somehow an extension of what she wants for herself.

As for Adam, well, for a handsome man and someone who has everything he needs, the world suddenly comes crashing down on him and affects him greatly. I enjoy how Christine tries to help him and comes up with ways to make him enjoy life once again. The steps she got from her self-help books may seem simple, but the execution of those steps is what makes the book more unique and entertaining to read. They’re fun and with that process, readers could see the bond and the friendship that slowly form between them. At the end of the day, I’m hoping that they’d end up together.

Cecelia Ahern never fails to disappoint me every time I read her latest book. The story is always something new and fresh and unexpected. In this case, I’m surprised to know that Cecelia Ahern would create a story centering on the issue about suicides and while the topic may be heavy, Cecelia Ahern doesn’t make it too serious. Cecelia Ahern writes How to Fall in Love with just a right amount of humor and seriousness. Even the characters have their own flaws, struggles, and conflicts, but that doesn’t make the story any less interesting. Cecelia Ahern portrays the characters as such to make them more relatable to the readers.

Overall, I enjoyed the book from beginning until the end. I’m glad that this doesn’t wholly encompass as merely a romance book, but rather, issues mentioned in it are also tackled with much depth. How to Fall in Love has shown me that life is often taken for granted, that sometimes, we all need to slow down, contemplate, and observe our surroundings. That way, we could appreciate life fully and perhaps, change the way we view life. This book is a great reminder for me to be more optimistic and to be content with the simple things in life. How to Fall in Love has taught me so much and made me reflect about my life as well. I’m actually feeling quite enlightened and inspired after reading this book. I recommend this to anyone and I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

