Fighting Ruben Wolfe by Markus Zusak

signed Fighting Ruben WolfeHow I got my hands on this copy was quite a memorable story to tell. After reading The Book Thief and I Am the Messenger, I knew right then that I became a Markus Zusak fan. I even followed his Twitter account for up-to-date news of his upcoming book and some other things he wants to share to his followers. What I like about him is that he mostly responds to Twitter conversations. Then there came a period when he decided to write back to those who sent him postcards via mail. Of course I didn’t want to pass up this opportunity, so for the first time in my life, I sent a postcard to him along with a message at the back. And lo and behold, I received a response from him with a personalized signed copy of Fighting Ruben Wolfe!

Here’s the plot description from the back cover of the book:

Fighting Ruben Wolfe coverI say, ‘Don’t lose your heart, Rube.’ And very clearly, without moving, my brother answers me. He says, ‘I’m not tryin’ to lose it, Cam. I’m tryin’ to find it.’

The Wolfe brothers know how to fight. They’ve been fighting all their lives. Now there’s something more at stake than just winning.

Isn’t it amazing? Up to this moment, despite months passed, I’m still feeling overwhelmed and extremely happy about what I got! It’s a rare treasure I’d truly cherish until the end. Plus, it’s an addition to my growing collection of signed books.

Anyway, moving on to the book, the book cover and title already depict what the story would be about. To be honest, I dislike boxing and by the looks of the book at first glance, I’m anxious that I might end up disliking the story as well. I’m afraid that I won’t be able to connect with the characters, knowing that fighting centers the plot.

But of course, I’m glad I have given this book the benefit of the doubt. And since it’s written by Markus Zusak, it has given me more confidence that I’ll enjoy this book and that this is more than just about literal fighting. Who would’ve thought that I end up liking this book? Although not as much as The Book Thief and I Am the Messenger, but enough for the story to stay with me and gain meaningful insights from it.

Fighting Ruben Wolfe centers on the lives of two brothers – Cameron and Ruben – and how they cope with everything that’s happening in their family. I love the dynamism in their characterization. Cameron’s perceptiveness allows him to empathize with others. It’s also amazing how Markus Zusak portrays him as a seemingly weak person physically, and yet, still possessing strength in terms of his whole character. Ruben, on the other hand, is being described as the alpha. His bravery and toughness prove him to be a good fighter. I’m impressed that despite their differences, Cameron and Ruben stand side by side each other. The relationship they have as brothers demonstrates their value in keeping the family together more than anything else.

Once again, Markus Zusak wowed me in this book. The story’s simple and short, but knowing Markus Zusak, there’s depth and meaning. He writes metaphorically which adds substance to the story and this is more than enough to push me to read. Even though this is the second book of the series, it can still be read as a stand-alone. Fighting Ruben Wolfe is not a disappointment.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

2 responses to “Fighting Ruben Wolfe by Markus Zusak

Leave a Reply

