You’re The One That I Want by Giovanna Fletcher

YTOTIWsignedI came across this title on Twitter as book bloggers had been talking about it endlessly. I decided to follow the author and it just so happened that she planned to do an almost-month-long giveaway of her new book before its release date. I checked the synopsis and got intrigued by it, so I joined the giveaway, hoping that I would be one of the lucky winners. Plus, it would be a signed copy! It was as if my prayer was answered because gratefully, days after the start of the giveaway, I was one of the chosen people to receive a signed copy of her book!

Here’s the plot description from the back cover of the book:

You're The One That I Want coverMaddy, dressed in white, stands at the back of the church. At the end of the aisle is Rob – the man she’s about to marry. Next to Rob is Ben – best man and the best friend any two people ever had.

And that’s the problem.

Because if it wasn’t Rob waiting for her at the altar, there’s a strong chance it would be Ben. Loyal and sensitive, Ben has always kept his feelings to himself, but if he turned round and told Maddy she was making a mistake, would she listen? And would he be right?

Best friends since childhood, Maddy, Ben and Rob thought their bond was unbreakable. But love changes everything. Maddy has a choice to make but will she choose wisely? Her heart, and the hearts of the two best men she knows, depend on it…

After reading the synopsis, I could already feel the complicated situation Maddy faces. She’s torn between two men, so it’s intriguing to find out who Maddy eventually chooses. On the other hand, I’m also curious how Giovanna Fletcher would deliver the story that would push readers to weigh in who among the two men they would root for for Maddy. I’ve been seeing people on Twitter expressing their support either for Ben or Robert. So I’m curious myself who I would like Maddy to be with for the rest of her life.

The beginning of the story introduces us to the wedding day of Maddy and Robert. Told in Maddy’s point of view, we see her mixed feelings towards both men she loves. She has chosen one, but I wonder if she’ll have a moment of doubt and change her mind. As she walks down the aisle, the present time seems to have stopped and the readers are then transported to the past – back to when everything has started. Robert and Ben have been best friends ever since, but it’s only during their ninth year of age when they meet Maddy. Since then, they’ve become inseparable.

I love the way Giovanna Fletcher narrates the story chronologically. It gives readers the taste of the things that happened during the different stages of the characters’ lives – from youth, adolescence, to adulthood. All these phases are evidently seen and readers are able to witness how the characters are being shaped as they grow older. It’s kind of reminiscing to read their experiences during their youth to adolescence phase. I can understand what they’re going through and I can clearly see the rawness of their emotions and feelings. Oh, how nostalgic it is. In the middle of my reading, I find myself feeling giddy and smiling secretly.

Friendship blooming to love is not something new to us, but this kind of concept always gets me and is close to my heart. I’m impressed how Giovanna Fletcher revolves the story along this line, while at the same time, adding twists and complicated conflicts that would put readers at the edge of their seats. You’re The One That I Want is not just written in Maddy’s point of view, but in Ben’s point of view as well. This strategy adds to the uniqueness of the storyline in which the book tells two love stories instead of one. During the span of my reading, I become attached to the characters, hence making me more confused like Maddy. I have empathized with them, making me feel happy at some parts, while feeling sad and hurt at some. Their emotions truly reach my heart that I can’t help but hope for all of them to have a happy ending.

You’re The One That I Want is a mixture of both sweet and bittersweet stories of Maddy, Robert, and Ben. You’ll smile and laugh and cry and ache. You’ll yearn for the outcome of their stories. Giovanna Fletcher really does an amazing job creating such a remarkable story between three best friends and the love that enfolds them. How each of them proclaims their love is inspiring. I truly enjoy this book from beginning to end.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

