Blast From Two Pasts by Kristel S. Villar

I got this book from a giveaway that the author hosted wherein I was one of the three chosen winners. The premise of the story sounded interesting, so I was excited to read the book after I downloaded it on my iPad.

Here’s the synopsis taken from Goodreads:

Blast From Two Pasts coverFate’s been playing tricks on Cara Nicolas lately. She agrees to go on a blind date with her best friend’s fiancé’s cousin, only to discover that the guy is her first love from high school, Lucas Lobregat. Now that would have been a charming story, except that the date turns out to be one of the worst ever. And they can’t even pretend it never happened, because they’re both suddenly part of the wedding preparations.

Just as she is starting to get to know more about the boy she used to love, Oliver Sta. Maria, an old flame who owes her some closure, surprisingly shows up. With two pasts resurfacing, which will Cara choose to rekindle? Or can she have the chance to choose at all?

The idea of meeting two past loves almost at the same time intrigues me. I am curious how the main character would handle the situation and at the end of the day, who she will choose eventually. The beginning of the story presents us with Cara’s unsuccessful blind date and its unexpected reminder of her childhood crush. Kristel S. Villar surely describes Lucas vividly as I find myself swooning over him as well. But Cara’s memory of him doesn’t seem to fit what he becomes now. Disappointed, Cara has to get stuck with him for Ayen’s wedding. And then comes Oliver, the ex-boyfriend, who suddenly returns home from being MIA without any warning.

As I read through the story, I slowly begin to be invested in the characters. Even the minor and supporting characters are fun to read as well. Lloyd and Ayen prove to be true friends for Cara and it’s entertaining to see how each of them helps Cara make better decisions. As for Lucas, he seems to be distant at first, but midway, he begins to reveal his true self to Cara and I love how they share the connection which leads to something more special. The conflict of the story is presented in the form of Oliver’s character as he brings confusion to Cara and almost ruins the good things that are happening in Cara’s life. Even I got curious why Oliver suddenly disappeared in the first place which left Cara with a gaping hole in her heart. Reading Cara’s thoughts and feelings makes me want to find closure as well. After hearing Oliver, I feel that everything is not worth it with him.

Yes, I’m Lucas all the way! His character is more likeable and once again, swoon-worthy. I love how Kristel S. Villar portrays him that it greatly influences my favor of him over Oliver and I couldn’t help rooting for Lucas and Cara to bring their relationship to the next level. Overall, despite the shortness in length, I very much enjoyed reading this story. If only there were no distractions, I would’ve read it in one sitting. I kept turning the pages, eager to find out what will happen next and if Cara will get her happily ever after. I truly had a blast reading Blast From Two Pasts. This is definitely something one would like to go back to and reread once in a while.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

