The Harder We Fall by Mina V. Esguerra

I received this eBook ARC copy in exchange for a review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The Harder We Fall coverShe knows it won’t last…

Nicholas is unlike anyone Daria has ever dated, and yet he hasn’t left her mind since she got her hands on the 23-year-old rugby player when he took a tumble during a game.

But they aren’t even really dating; a fast fling is all they have time for. He’s heading to Japan to play pro and is only in town to tie loose ends. She’s graduating in three weeks, and is only covering his struggling rugby club to win a internship spot in a documentary that’ll start filming in Europe.

Getting what they want means they don’t get to stay together. But that doesn’t mean they can’t have fun — as long as they don’t fall hard.

The plot description already suggests that this book is not the usual Mina V. Esguerra story we’ve read before. I’m both intrigued and excited to read something that’s a bit outside my comfort read. I’ve read some steamy stories, but coming from a Filipino author whose chick lit stories I’m more accustomed to, and then suddenly being introduced to The Harder We Fall, a whole new different, daring story, that separates it from the other Mina books I’ve read, I’m curious how this book would have an effect on me.

From the usual local settings of other books, The Harder We Fall now happens in America. It focuses on two unique individuals with different career path goals who meet and their undeniable attraction has led them to form something beyond the level of friendship. I like the twist in the story that puts Daria in a situation outside her comfort zone. The development of the story is not forced as it is crafted smoothly to make Daria and Nicholas meet. Journalism is not something I find interest in, but the book is able to explore this aspect at a different angle – which is about sports. Again, I’m not a sport enthusiast, but Mina V. Esguerra still manages to make it understandable to the readers. It’s only been recent that I’ve heard of a sport called rugby and that it’s also called football, a term I’m more familiar with. In a way, I’m glad I get to experience a behind-the-scene and in-depth look on rugby. This provides an avenue to get to know some players more and their personalities.

As I read through the story, I come to realize how Daria and Nicholas are different from one another, and yet, the attraction and chemistry for each other are still there. Nicholas is portrayed as someone who is selfless, persevering, and most of all, hot! I like how he is characterized as a sporty person physically, but personality-wise, readers get to see his soft side. On the other hand, Daria’s independence and passion for journalism focusing on humanitarian work show her competitiveness and strength. Moreover, readers will slowly comprehend how her past has shaped her present self and relationship with her family. Despite the differences, Daria and Nicholas still complement each other. I love how their relationship has evolved as the story progresses.

I may not completely relate to what the characters are going through, but the story still manages to make me understand their situation and empathize with them. Seriousness aside, I must say, The Harder We Fall is the first Mina V. Esguerra book I’ve read that is steamy and definitely hot, hot, hot! (I’m hand-fanning myself right now.) I never imagined a story like this coming from Mina and I end up enjoying the book more than I expect. I love how the characters slowly reveal more of their personalities and how Daria and Nicholas’ relationship affects their decisions. The Harder We Fall is a short, but interesting read. I’ll definitely look forward to its sequel, if there happens to be one in the near future.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

