Only A Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao

How I came across this book and the author is a perfect example of word-of-mouth marketing/advertising. Well, maybe not intentionally, but I would still categorize myself into that aspect. I had encountered a tweet from one of the people I follow praising the author and her works. My curiosity got the better of me, so I checked out the author’s Twitter account and found out she has a new book coming out! Entranced by the title and the book’s description, I decided to buy a copy for myself. I’m a sucker for romance/love stories.

Here’s the synopsis from the back cover of the book:

Only A Kiss coverWhen she was nine-years-old, Katie knew she wanted Chris to give her her first kiss. It wasn’t because she was in love with him (no way, he was her best friend! Besides, she was in love with his fourteen-year-old big brother), it was because she could make him do anything she wanted.

Besides, it didn’t really mean anything. It was only a kiss after all.

But then things started to change. They grew up. They parted ways and went to different high schools. And other girls and boys—well, just one particular boy—came into the picture, throwing their lives upside down.

Told from the alternating points of view of Katie and Chris, this love story between two best friends will tug at your heartstrings and leave you thinking how the simplest things can mean so much.

The plot may be simple, but what I’m after is the story building in the middle that will eventually lead us to the conclusion. I’m eager to know how the author would create tensions and kilig moments between the characters as the main characters’ love story begins to unfold. Knowing that love grows from friendship, I already feel biased towards the book. What’s more exciting is that readers will have an opportunity to get into the minds of Chris and Katie as each chapter is told in alternating points of view.

Each chapter narrates the life story of either Chris or Katie, depending on whose point of view it is, at a certain period of time. Significant life phases are covered – from childhood, adolescence, to adulthood. Moreover, character development in all the characters has been made apparent and realistic as the author successfully captures the behaviors and personalities of the characters in situations fit for their ages, and how they’ve grown maturely as time passes. During the process of my reading, it’s evident that the bond between Chris and Katie is immeasurable. I’ve become so invested in their friendship that I yearn for their moments in times of their separation. Friendship like that is hard to come by. I’m actually pretty amazed by the depth of their friendship as they’ve proven not to show any hint of embarrassment, that instead, they stand by each other during highs and lows.

Only A Kiss is a short but entertaining read about friendship, love, and kisses. There are moments when some scenes may seem a bit cliché, but I still can’t help being reeled in into the story. The author knows how to reach into the hearts of the readers and feel what the characters are feeling. It even comes to a point where I almost teared up! That’s how powerful her characters’ emotions are. Readers could see the passion of Chris in love through his art, while Katie’s passion is shown through her dream of marriage in the future. Overall, this book does not disappoint. It also serves as a reflection of my childhood and my views on love as I grow older. Only A Kiss starts with a kiss and ends with a kiss and so much more!

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

