One Hundred Proposals by Holly Martin

The title caught my attention on Twitter sometime last year when it was mentioned by a fellow book blogger. As much as I’m a sucker for love stories and romance, I’m also a sucker when it comes to proposals and wedding-related things, probably because I wish to see myself in that phase of life someday. Anyway, my curiosity about the book’s plot got the better of me, so I added it to my reading list and decided to buy the Kindle edition of the book on Amazon.

Here’s the blurb from Goodreads:

One Hundred Proposals cover‘Is there really such a thing as a perfect proposal?

Over the next hundred days I intend to find out. I will find one hundred ways to propose to our Chief Proposer Suzie McKenzie and post the results here for your enjoyment. One thing’s for sure, not one of my proposals will be on top of the Eiffel Tower with a dozen red roses.’

Best friends Suzie and Harry are partners in romance. That is, they run the.PerfectProposal.com, coming to the aid of would-be grooms to create the ultimate marriage proposal.

But when Harry decides to catapult the business into the big leagues with a PR stunt all Suzie can see is a hundred days of heartbreak stretching ahead of her. But however exotic the location, or breath-takingly romantic the setting, Suzie has to keep remembering that ‘Marry Me?’ is the one question she can’t say yes to.

This business proposal should come with one hundred broken heart warnings…

One hundred proposals, one hundred chances to say yes.

Reading the synopsis alone brings out a lot of questions from me: How would one person find one hundred ways to propose? How would Harry do one proposal per day every day? What would the proposals be? Where, I wonder? And why would the proposals entail heartbreak to Suzie? The idea may seem far-fetched, but at the same time, it still intrigues me on how Holly Martin will strategize her plotline as well as on how she will make her character pull it off with all those proposals up his sleeves. Either way, this PR stunt sounds interesting and gives me the impression that I’ll enjoy this book fully.

One Hundred Proposals introduces us to two main characters, Harry and Suzie, who run a website about proposals. These two best friends help their clients and potential clients produce a perfect proposal. However, out of the blue, Harry decides to go against the cliché and instead, comes up with other perfect ways to propose. But will he succeed?

I love the suspense and mystery this book provides. Even the readers couldn’t guess what Harry’s plans are and once it’s been revealed to us, BOOM! The overwhelming wave of emotions during his proposals will knock us out. It is also through these proposals that we get to understand Suzie’s heartbreaking moments, unbeknownst to Harry. At a glance, Harry and Suzie are mere strangers and distant to me, but as pages are turned and story develops, Harry and Suzie somehow become my friends and their feelings are gradually exposed. While the book is told in Suzie’s point of view, I’m glad readers are also able to witness Harry’s point of view through his blog entries.

Holly Martin surely impresses me with her writing style. As the story progresses, there’s also character development happening between the two dynamic, unique characters. Through the process of my reading, I slowly become invested in the characters, empathizing with them and fervently hoping for their happy ending. Moreover, the proposals are, indeed, spectacular and extraordinary! I’m not a fan of proposals done in public, but Harry manages to take his proposals to a whole new level and make those a unique experience for Suzie – whether it’s a success or a failure. His determination could easily be seen through his actions and proposals. Plus, the places and countries they’ve been to somehow allow me to visit those without ever having to leave my home.

Overall, I’m highly entertained with One Hundred Proposals. Holly Martin delivers the story well and succeeds in making me glued to the seat as I read her masterpiece. Devouring this book in just three days is worth it. It had me laughing and giggling at one point, to worrying and biting my nails off the next. As crazy and intense as it may seem, One Hundred Proposals is definitely an effective marketing strategy to promote one’s company specializing in that aspect. Readers will learn a lot from this. People may have their own ways to propose, be it a grand gesture or a simple one, but I guess this book also intends to show us that what matters most is the person proposing is also the one who wants you to spend the rest of his life with. To my future husband, may your proposal whisk me away for our journey towards happily ever after. Hihi!

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

2 responses to “One Hundred Proposals by Holly Martin

Leave a Reply

