Pivot Point by Kasie West

After reading The Distance Between Us, I knew right then and there that I have to read all of Kasie West’s books. I’d actually been eyeing this book for quite some time, but I’m not a great fan of book series and the synopsis didn’t catch my attention, so I put off the idea of reading this book first. However, months had passed and something had been pulling me back so I ended up checking out the book’s summary again. Based on the reviews and ratings I had seen and read, I was finally convinced that this may hold something promising. Hence, I decided to buy this book and its sequel, Split Second, on Book Depository.

Here’s the synopsis from the jacket cover of the book:

 Pivot Point coverKnowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier…

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through… and who she can’t live without.

So, Pivot Point – I do not like it… I FREAKINGLY LOVE IT!!! I pick up this book with no recollection of the summary, so I’m eager to find out how this book would affect me. I’m up for surprises and ready to be involved with the characters. True enough, Pivot Point more than lives up to my expectations. And it definitely gives me one hell of a ride.

Kasie West creatively tackles our never-ending “What If” moments/dilemmas and weaves a beautifully-written story centering this subject matter in the mind of a teenager. The setting goes beyond the ordinary wherein the community where Addie lives, all people utilize 100% of their brains; thus, allowing them to do things ordinary people can’t. Addie has the power to see beyond when presented with two choices. However, Kasie West doesn’t want to simplify the plotline by giving away the answer immediately because at the end of the day, the story boils down to which of the two paths Addie will eventually choose, for these two paths have their own pros and cons.

Pivot Point is told in Addie’s point of view. Caught between her parents’ divorce, Addie has no choice but to choose who she’s going to stay with. It’s not just about between her mom or dad, but it’s also about her life either to continue living in the Compound or start a new life outside, which is the Normal. There, she seeks to use her power. I love how Kasie West formulates her story that there is a smooth transition of how she’s going to introduce Addie’s power to the readers. Once it’s been revealed to us, I’m immediately drawn into it and it’s as if a portal appears and sucks me right into Addie’s two “what if” worlds.

Kasie West narrates Addie’s two possible life scenarios in alternating chapters. Addie’s character is so likeable that I want to be friends with her the moment I met her. I find myself relating easily with Addie and it’s what pushes me to go further into the story and read more. Kasie West definitely succeeds in portraying these two worlds differently that for every cliffhanger she writes per chapter, I become more torn and confused as to which path I’d prefer Addie to choose. Despite the similarity in character involvement of the two worlds, I’m impressed by the drastic change in character development of the characters as the story deepens, more so by how the two possible realities are surprisingly interconnected! It’s no doubt Addie cares for Laila, but it’s another thing when we talk about boys. I’d be in Team Duke at one point, then I’d be in Team Trevor the next, and the switching goes on. As the story progresses, it gets more complicated, but I’m glad my confusion has been resolved after I finish the book. Above all, Addie’s selfless act and sacrifice are what make a great impact on me.

Pivot Point exceeds my expectations and leaves me speechless as I close the book. Reading it in merely two days, I feel that the book will stay with me for as long as I can remember. The book is so addicting and engrossing! I always grab every chance to read it during leisure time and it has me glued to the seat all the way to the end. Kasie West undoubtedly delivers the story well. I’m impressed and amazed by the uniqueness of the plotline. The only thing I regret is that I should have read this sooner. Overall, Pivot Point is highly entertaining with a mixture of suspense and swoon-worthy characters. Now I’m off to read Split Second.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

One response to “Pivot Point by Kasie West

Leave a Reply

