Split Second by Kasie West

Much to my enjoyment of reading Pivot Point, I immediately moved on to Split Second right after I finished the first book. Now that Addie chose a path contrary to her heart’s desire, how will she be able to get what she truly wanted despite having that desire erased? That, I’m about to find out. A word of caution, though, this review may contain spoilers if you haven’t read Pivot Point yet. Proceed reading at your own risk. Haha!

Here’s the synopsis from the jacket cover of the book:

Split Second coverLife can change in a split second.

Addie hardly recognizes her life since her parents divorced. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. She can’t believe this is the future she chose.

When Addie’s dad invites her to spend her winter break with him, she jumps at the chance to escape into the Norm world of Dallas, Texas. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He’s a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. And she has an inexplicable desire to change that.

Meanwhile, her best friend, Laila, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie’s memories… once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don’t want to see this happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.

As Addie and Laila frantically attempt to retrieve the lost memories, Addie must piece together a world she thought she knew before she loses the love she nearly forgot… and a future that could change everything.

The story picks up where Pivot Point has left off. But instead of using the same strategy as the first book, Kasie West now centers her story to Addie and Laila. Their alternating points of view give readers glimpses of the current situation in the Compound and the normal world. With the inclusion of new characters, the flow of story sets off to a new course – making the plotline thicker and more complicated.

Knowing that Addie has her Norm world path erased, I’m actually looking forward to her meeting with Trevor. I’m eager to find out how Kasie West would recreate the Trevor-Addie moments now that Addie acquires an uncontrollable power that endangers her secret from the Norms. With the surprise turnout of events, readers also get to see the sweet side of Stephanie, who we’ve known from the first book. Kasie West definitely deviates from our preconceived notions of the characters in the first book. This twist pushes me to further become engrossed in the story.

Meanwhile, at the Compound, after reading Addie’s note, Laila attempts to improve her power by seeking Connor’s help. This mysterious character plays a significant role in the story. I keep guessing his true identity, but I always end up with a blank. As the story progresses, I love how flawed Connor and Laila’s friendship is because it reveals both their strengths and vulnerabilities. I’m glad Laila’s been given a center stage role that I slowly get to know her true self. As expected, I have become invested in these two characters. Eli never fails to amaze me as well. I’m amused by his humor and innocence and how he has become helpful in the story.

As for Trevor and Addie, they’ve just become one of my favorite couples in literature. I love how their relationship develops without any hint of rush or insta-love. They’ve taken time to get to know each other that slowly blooms to love. I’ve known Trevor in Pivot Point, but I’ve come to know him better in this book. These Trevor-Addie moments definitely have me swooning and feeling giddy. Call me a cliché, but I always root for these friendship-turning-love kinds of relationship.

Apart from love and relationship, Kasie West digs deeper into the complex structure of the Compound and their controversial system. While I enjoy the suspense, I feel that the latter part of the story has been rushed a bit. With too many characters involved, some, whom I thought would take part in the vital section of the story, have been left out.

Other than that, Split Second manages to entertain me from beginning to the end. I couldn’t keep my hands off the book! It’s undoubtedly different from her other books, but it’s great to read a diversified plotline for a change. Kasie West’s story once again gives readers a right amount of twists and surprises. Split Second has been a fun reading experience and I’m glad I’m able to meet these amazing characters.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

