Learning to Fall by Mina V. Esguerra

Learning to Fall coverSynopsis from Goodreads:

“Go out with a stereotypical romance novel hero WHO ISN’T YOUR TYPE.”

Avid reader and art student Steph is participating in a monthly blog challenge to Live Like Fiction, and this was the task for October. When Grayson, former co-captain of her university rugby team, walks into her class, she knows it’s meant to be – she has to go out with this guy. Even if she’s never been attracted to big, hunky, athletic types. With Grayson’s “player” reputation off the field, Steph thinks he’ll be good for one date that’ll be worth blogging about, and that’s it.

But you know how it goes: Soon, it becomes more than just one date – and Steph and Grayson are caught up in “living like fiction.” How long can they keep playing their roles before reality steps in?

I enlisted myself to the list of those who wanted to receive an e-ARC copy of this book. Mina V. Esguerra has been one of my favorite Filipino authors, so knowing that she has a new book coming out excites me. Judging by the cover of the book, I know for sure that this will be a worthwhile read.

One of the things that pique my interest is the portrayal of the main character – because she’s a book blogger! As a book blogger, I’m curious to know the life of another blogger and true enough, reading this book confirms that being one paints a more lively color to life. Aside from that, despite it being a work of fiction, this book also seems to bring its characters to life and convinces the readers that it’s possible for them to experience a fictional life in reality once in a while.

I love the concept of this Live Like Fiction Challenge. The monthly challenges surely look exciting to do and Steph, without any hesitation, grabs the opportunity to be part of it. It’s because of the challenge that Steph meets Grayson and from that point on, their lives become intertwined more than they expected it to be. At a glance, it seems impossible to think that an artist and/or bookworm won’t mix well with a sports enthusiast, especially with a rugby player, but surprisingly enough, Mina V. Esguerra manages to successfully make Grayson and Steph look perfect together. And boy, what an interesting read this book has become.

Just like what the title says, I, too, am learning to fall for the hero and heroine. This would be the first time I encountered a character portrayed as an artist and what Steph does just fascinates me. She has the talent and passion to do what she loves. As for Grayson, he may be perceived as a player, but giving him the benefit of the doubt changes everything I think about him. As I read further, I learn that he possesses qualities of what women call “man of her dreams”. I may not be a sports enthusiast, but I’ve become so invested in their relationship. Their undeniable attraction and chemistry are evident and I like the fact that despite their independence, they still complement each other. There’ve been struggles along the way, each finding their own goals and dreams, but I’m impressed by how they still help each other reach for their goals.

As much as this is the story about two persons’ journey towards their desired future, Learning to Fall also tells Grayson and Steph’s unique love story. One cannot ignore the very steamy scenes included in this book as well. Kudos to Mina V. Esguerra for writing detailed, stimulating scenes for readers to enjoy. She definitely delivers the story well that it had me devouring the book in a day or two. The book convinces me enough that living a fictional life isn’t too far-fetched. Overall, Learning to Fall entertains me more than I expect it to. I would have wanted to see more of Steph’s work, though. Aside from that, I’m definitely on Team Stayson all the way.

About Rhin

Expression through words. Finding contentment in the simple things in life. Embracing opportunities. Daring to live her dream. View all posts by Rhin

Leave a Reply

